MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING LORAIN COUNTY RURAL WASTEWATER DISTRICT JANUARY 14, 2016

Call to Order:

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Lorain County Rural Wastewater District was held at the LORCO offices, 22898 West Road, Wellington, Ohio. Board president McConnell called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Trustee Roll Call (by Secretary-Treasurer Lahetta):

Howard Born		Louise Grose		Neil Lynch	$\sqrt{}$
Doug Gardner		Karol Cornelius		James McConnell	$\sqrt{}$
Gerald Cowie		Rick Hutman	V	John Piwinski	$\sqrt{}$
Mary Beth Derikito		Cindy Kurpely		Del Roig	$\sqrt{}$
Tom Steigerwald	V	Tom Lahetta		Jim Wright	
				James Woodrum	$\sqrt{}$

Also in Attendance:

Eugene M. Toy, Executive Director; Dave Rickey, Avon Lake Regional Water; Patti Brubaker, New Russia Twp.; Dennis O'Toole

Election of Officers:

In accordance with Article IV, Section 1 of the LORCO Bylaws, election of officers is to take place at the first meeting of the year. Jim McConnell asked LORCO Executive Director Toy to handle the election of officers. McConnell left the room and asked for there to be a discussion about nominations for the position of president. Toy stated that he had a conversation with McConnell last week and McConnell expressed a desire for someone else to take the position of president. Toy relayed the following to the board regarding McConnell: Board member since 1997; Board president since approximately 2003; at Toy's first board elections meeting in January 2014, Jim expressed a desire for someone else to be nominated if anyone else was interested. In January 2015, Jim again accepted the position of board president but stated that he would like for someone else to take over in January 2016 as he intended for 2015 to be his last year as president; and while Jim does not desire to be board president again in 2016, he does not want the position to be forced on someone that does not really want it or would not willingly accept it. The floor was then opened for nominations for the board office of President. Motion was made by Neil Lynch with a second by Tom Lahetta to nominate Cindy Kurpely to the position of President. A motion was made by Del Roig and seconded by Jerry Cowie to close the nominations. McConnell returned to the meeting room. Voice vote to appoint Kurpely was unanimous. The floor was then opened for nominations for the board office of Vice President. Motion was made by Tom Lahetta with second by Tom Steigerwald to nominate Neil Lynch to the position of Vice President. There being no further nominations for the position of Vice President, a motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot in favor of the nominee was made by Louise Grose. Voice vote to approve was unanimous. The floor was then opened for nominations for the board office of Secretary-Treasurer. Motion was made by Jim McConnell with a second by John Piwinski to nominate Tom Lahetta to the position of Secretary-Treasurer. There being no further nominations for the position of Secretary-Treasurer, a motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot in favor of the nominee was made by Cindy Kurpely. Voice vote to approve was unanimous.

Approval of Minutes:

It was moved by Woodrum, with a second by Lahetta to approve December 10, 2015 regular meeting minutes. Voice vote for approval was unanimous.

Old Business:

None.

New Business

President's Report:

McConnell reported that board member Derikito had recently undergone surgery and suggested using a portion of the Flower Fund to buy a get well gift. Board was in agreement and asked Executive Director Toy to work with board president Kurpely.

RESOLUTION NO. 2016-1 Approval of non-LMRE-related December deposits and payments. It was moved by Roig, with a second by Steigerwald to approve the resolution. The vote was as follows: 13 Yeas. 0 Nays. Motion carried.

RESOLUTION NO. 2016-2 Approval of LMRE-related December deposits and payments. It was moved by Lahetta, with a second by Piwinski to approve the resolution. The vote was as follows: 12 Yeas. 0 Nays. McConnell abstained. Motion carried.

RESOLUTION NO. 2016-3 Approval of Hawke Road flow agreement with Lorain County. It was moved by Roig, with a second by McConnell to approve the resolution. General discussion followed. Woodrum asked O'Toole to discuss his letter concerning the agreement that was distributed to the board. Lynch raised several concerns about various sections of the agreement. A motion was made by McConnell to table the resolution. O'Toole is going to touch base with assistant county prosecutor Jerry Innes and work on the agreement. Voice vote to table Resolution 2016-3 was unanimous. Motion carried.

Executive Director Report:

- Phase 3 of Mallards Edge subdivision is proceeding.
- Letter was sent in late December to 16 residents on Castleton Lane regarding interest in receiving cost estimate information for possible sanitary sewer extension. To date, three have indicated they were not interested and two have indicated they were interested.
- Lorain County planning commission's subdivision review committee will be meeting January 22, 2016 at 2 pm to review revised plans for Stonecreek subdivision near the southeast corner of State Route 82 and State Route 83.
- Poggemeyer Design Group is wrapping up work on the LGIF project. Due to tap fee costs recently received from Lorain County, a connection to the county's system with treatment by Lorain is probably not going to be an option for South Amherst.

Other Business:

Finance Committee chairman John Piwinski gave report on committee recommendations regarding deferred debt. A finance committee meeting was held January 14, 2016 at 6 pm. Committee recommends making the following deferred debt payments: \$10,700 to Radachi and Company; \$20,500 to OMDP Law; and \$4,700 to Squire, Sanders & Dempsey. Gardner reported on Pheasant Run Village. Piwinski announced that he is resigning from LORCO board as he did not run for reelection to his position of township trustee. Dave Rickey from the Avon Lake Regional Water board gave a report of recent activities.

	re the Board, a motion was made by Steigerwald and seconded it 8:50 pm and meet again on Thursday, February 11, 2016 at nanimous.
President	Secretary-Treasurer