### MINUTES BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING LORAIN COUNTY RURAL WASTEWATER DISTRICT November 12, 2020

# Call to Order:

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Lorain County Rural Wastewater District was held at the LORCO offices, 22898 West Road, Wellington, Ohio. Board president Kurpely called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

# Trustee Roll Call (Board secretary-treasurer Wesemeyer):

Will Schlechter (arr. 7:03)	 Michael Koch	 Neil Lynch	$\checkmark$
Doug Gardner	Karol Cornelius	 Jim McConnell	$\checkmark$
Adam Mourton	 Rick Hutman	 Andy Gulish	
Jed Lamb	 Cindy Kurpely	 Del Roig	$\checkmark$
Carl Wesemeyer	 Tom Lahetta	 Jim Wright	$\checkmark$
	Tom Berry	 Jim Woodrum	$\checkmark$

### Also in Attendance:

Eugene M. Toy, Executive Director

### Changes to agenda:

Finance committee October 26, 2020 meeting report will be given prior to executive director report.

#### **Approval of Minutes:**

It was moved by Lahetta, with a second by Berry to approve October 8, 2020 regular meeting minutes. Voice vote for approval was unanimous.

Old Business:

None

New Business:

None

#### **President's Report:**

Executive Committee met at 6 pm prior to tonight's board meeting to review executive director annual performance review forms. Executive committee will meet again at 6:30 pm prior to December 10, 2020 board meeting to discuss executive director performance review.

**RESOLUTION NO. 2020-41 Approval of non-LMRE & RLCWA-related October deposits and payments.** It was moved by Koch, with a second by Roig to approve the resolution. The vote was as follows: 14 Yeas. 0 Nays. Motion carried.

**RESOLUTION NO. 2020-42 Approval of RLCWA-related October payments.** It was moved by Lamb with a second by Koch to approve the resolution. Schlechter arrived at 7:03 pm prior to the vote on Resolution No. 2020-42. The vote was as follows: 12 Yeas. 0 Nays. Kurpely, Lamb and Wesemeyer abstained. Motion carried.

**RESOLUTION NO. 2020-43 Approval of LMRE-related October payments.** It was moved by Lamb, with a second by Koch to approve the resolution. The vote was as follows: 14 Yeas. 0 Nays. McConnell abstained. Motion carried.

**RESOLUTION NO. 2020-44 Reauthorization of funds.** It was moved by McConnell, with a second by Lahetta to approve the resolution. The vote was as follows: 15 Yeas. 0 Nays. Motion carried.

# Finance Committee Report:

October 26, 2020 meeting report was provided by committee chair McConnell. Full discussion was held regarding current LORCO rates and upcoming expenses (tap fee payment to Avon Lake Regional Water, debt service for projects, etc.) Finance committee had made a tentative recommendation to the full board regarding rate increases to take effect January 2021 but had asked the executive director to review possible alternatives. Finance committee will meet December 2, 2020 at 6 pm and provide a recommendation to the board at the regular December board meeting.

# **Executive Director Report:**

- 1. Cinnamon Lake Received positive news from Ohio EPA WPCLF. Awarded \$778,745 at 0.86%. Submitting additional information to determine whether term will be 20 or 30 years.
- Woods at Eaton (Phase 1 52 lots) Water infrastructure plans recommended for approval this week by Ohio EPA Northeast District office. Waiting on word from the developer whether he plans on doing underground work this winter or will wait until the spring.
- 3. Timber Creek (52 lots) work should be completed soon on turn lane opening up all 52 lots for sale.
- 4. Slife Road (Carlisle Township) 10 frontage lots have been split off. Received subdivision plans this week to review. Phase 1 is 22 sublots. Current map (at board seats) shows 63 total sublots.
- 5. Records Commission meeting 12/10/20 at 5:30 pm prior to December board meeting.

# Other Business:

None.

# Adjourn:

With no further business to come before the Board, a motion was made by Lamb and seconded by Schlechter to adjourn the meeting at 7:34 pm and meet again on Thursday, December 10, 2020 at 7:00 pm. Voice vote to approve was unanimous.

President

Secretary-Treasurer